Skip to content

Programs : Brochure

This page is the brochure for your selected program. You can view the provided information for this program on this page and click on the available buttons for additional options.
  • Locations: Limassol, Cyprus
  • Program Terms: Summer
  • Budget Sheets: Summer
  • This program is currently not accepting applications.
Fact Sheet:
Minimum GPA (Undergraduate): 2.25 Language of Instruction: English
Housing: Flat/Apartment Number of Credits Offered: 6
Eligible Population: 01 Freshman, 02 Sophomore, 03 Junior, 04 Senior Type of Program: Faculty-led
Open to non-Mason Students: Yes
Program Description:

Cross-Cultural Psychology in Cyprus

Spend four weeks in the heart of the Mediterranean Sea this summer soaking up the sun and culture of Cyprus! Students will spend four weeks in the port city of Limassol and take excursions to other cities and villages throughout the island.

Video


Program Details

Seeking Credits for the Following:

Undergraduate:
  • Psychology (PSYC) 379: Applied Cross-Cultural Psychology (satisfies Mason core requirement in global understanding; also satisfies applied psychology requirement)
  • Psychology (PSYC) 405: Mystery, Madness, and Murder (satisfies Mason core requirement in synthesis)
  • Psychology (PSYC) 461: Special Topics
Graduate:
  • Psychology (PSYC) 592: Special Topics in Psychology

Eligibility

This program is open to all undergraduate and graduate students including students who do not attend George Mason University. 

Housing

Student campus apartments

Program Cost: Summer 2017 $4,175

Included:
  • Tuition (6 credits)
  • Apartment accommodations 
  • Buses for scheduled trips
  • Cyprus culture show
  • Museum visits
  • Traditional tavern visits
  • Traditional barbecues with locals
  • Welcome and farewell dinners
  • Pre-Departure Orientation
  • International Emergency Insurance
Not Included:
  • Round-trip airfare
  • Other transportation
  • Most meals
  • Personal spending

Program Itinerary*

Saturday, July 8

Arrive at Larnaca airport
Transportation to Limassol
Orientation
Welcome dinner

Sunday, July 9

Tour Limassol downtown
Free time

Monday, July 10 – Thursday, June 13
Instruction at Cyprus University of Technology

Friday, July 14
Travel Nicosia and Agia Napa Village
Cultural trip

Saturday, July 15
Day excursion
Free time
Night stay at Agia Napa Village

Sunday, July 16
Return to Limassol
Free time

Monday, July 17 – Thursday, July 20
Instruction at Cyprus University of Technology

Friday, July 21
Morning instruction
Travel to Pafos
Visit international heritage sites (Kurium Amphitheatre, Petra of Romios, Tombs of the Kings, Pafos castle, Mosaics, Pafos museum, Geroskipou).
Night stay at Pafos

Saturday, July 22
Visit Akamas National Park
Aprhodite’s baths
Free Time
Night stay at Pafos

Sunday, July 23
Return to Limassol
Free Time

Monday, July 24 - Thursday, July 27
Instruction at Cyprus University of Technology

Friday, July 28
Trip to Troodos mountains and villages (wine museum, Vasa village, Omodos village)
Night stay at Troodos

Saturday, July 29
Nature trails, natural waterfalls
Return to Limassol
Free Time

Sunday, July 30
Free Time

Monday, June 31 – August, 3
Instruction at Cyprus University of Technology

Friday, August 4
Free Time

Saturday, August 5
Concluding Lessons & Reflections
Farewell dinner

Sunday, August 6
Transportation to Larnaca airport
Depart 
 

*Instructor reserves the right to modify the course schedule as needed.

 


Contact Information

Program Officer

Denise Elles-Mdahuar
dellesmd@gmu.edu
703-993-2155

Academic Director

Vias Nicolaides
vnicolai@gmu.edu
559-709-0102

 


Dates / Deadlines:
Term Year App Deadline Decision Date Start Date End Date
Summer 2017 03/19/2017
**
Rolling Admission 07/08/2017 08/06/2017

** Indicates rolling admission application process. Applicants will be immediately notified of acceptance into this program and be able to complete post-decision materials prior to the term's application deadline.

Indicates that deadline has passed

This program is currently not accepting applications.